Drywall Talk - Professional Drywall and Finishing Contractors Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Super Moderator
154 Posts
That is what I thought but I am not sure how to handle it with the owner of the company. This is a big drywall contractor and I hired them because I wanted a really good job, not a job that I thought I might get from a handyman. Can you tell me what he did wrong and what I should have him fix? And how do you fix this? Is it normal to have this many seams? Is OK to leave the paper torn off in spots and, if not, what needs to be done, etc? I am not a drywall pro so I don't want to jump to contusions over anything that is not out of line and fixable but I also don't want to get screwed over with a shit job when I am paying a lot of money. I feel sick.
Id call them tell them you want a supervisor to come out, from the pics looks like there are unnecessary seams some of those gaps are questionable at best. Corner bead is a joke. Looks unprofessional all around. The missing paper happens thats not a issue. I'd get on the phone in the morning b4 they send someone out to tape it.

· Super Moderator
154 Posts
Thank you for replying. what should I tell them I want done? I have a tile guy starting in the morning and not sure what can be fixed after the tile. :( And want to add that the owner came out and he saw it all. I asked him about all the seams that are going to be in the most visible spot and why and his response was "I have been doing this for 35 years" and the gist was, "how dare you question me, since you are just a dumb homeowner and a woman at that."
How high are the ceilings in room? The only reason for seams in middle would be the ceiling height over 8' And at this point ask the tile guy what he can work with and what he cant, then address it with drywall co. At a minimum id leave the drywall co. a poor review.

· Super Moderator
154 Posts