Drywall Talk - Professional Drywall and Finishing Contractors Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
first post here so be nice.  i've been doing some textured (stomped) ceilings the past couple of years and have been applying themud with a roller just as almost everyone else does.  i'm wondering if anyone has ever tried using a flat box to apply the mud before stomping.  i've never used a flat box before, so i dont know if it would apply enough mud to stomp.  any thoughts?  anyone use flat boxes for finishing?<br>

·
post whore
7,772 Posts
first post here so be nice.  i've been doing some textured (stomped) ceilings the past couple of years and have been applying themud with a roller just as almost everyone else does.  i'm wondering if anyone has ever tried using a flat box to apply the mud before stomping.  i've never used a flat box before, so i dont know if it would apply enough mud to stomp.  any thoughts?  anyone use flat boxes for finishing?<br>
I have never done stomp, but I can run boxes.

I think it would be too un even, since a box applies the mud with a bit of a arch.

Maybe if you some how put mini wheels on a box, so it could apply more mud, but ,,,,, that's a lot of trips to a bucket, and could get messy,,,, plus I have never done stomp,,, so

I will say no, hopper or paint roller would be faster.

Guess you half to see what others think

·
Registered
352 Posts
I have never done stomp, but I can run boxes.

I think it would be too un even, since a box applies the mud with a bit of a arch.

Maybe if you some how put mini wheels on a box, so it could apply more mud, but ,,,,, that's a lot of trips to a bucket, and could get messy,,,, plus I have never done stomp,,, so

I will say no, hopper or paint roller would be faster.

Guess you half to see what others think

Nar he needs to hammer the **** out of his box till its round and cover the out side in sheepskin and use it like a roller

Something like this ...

·