Drywall Talk - Professional Drywall and Finishing Contractors Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was an installer for most of my younger life, started at 18 up until I was about 31. While I was hanging board, we used mostly the two man, over-head technique, no lifts and piecework at that. Now, after 10 years of being completely out of the trade, I'm paying for it with pain. In 1999, I decided to return to college and now work in the electronics field. Two years ago, I started having pains in my upper right side, shoulder and neck. After some x-rays and MRI, I was told I have 3 herniated disk in my neck in the area of C3, C4, C5 and C6 no doubt brought on by holding sheets over my head. And I just went for an MRI of my rite shoulder but haven't received results yet. This shoulder pain fluctuates but during bad spells, wakes me up at 3 in the morning and keeps me up. I have lost at least 60% of my strength in this shoulder/arm. I think it was undoubtedly brought on by screwing ceiling and wall sheets all day, day after day. I hope I can get these problems looked after soon because the chronic pain is starting to get on my nerves and I also hope it hammers home the point of working safe and intelligently for anyone just starting out in the trade.

Robert in NB, Canada

·
Registered
339 Posts
Robert,