Drywall Talk - Professional Drywall and Finishing Contractors Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there guys,

been surfing this site for a few months just as a guest and having fun listening to debates, pointers, highs, lows and different tricks. I've been taping for 8 years, am a self employed contractor but did the piece work thing but found it hard to get a good partner so decided to go at it on my own. I've worked the automatic tools although rent when needed to do custom homes and bigger renos. Do own angle tools which I agree with some that boxes and corner tools are more important as opposed to a bazooka. My question is? regarding sanding! I've first started out using the pole sander for finishing but found scratch marks were still tough hide and have switched to the small fine/med norton sanding blocks. it's great for quality finish but a lot longer to finish sanding then a pole. I do use 100 grit for the rough sand and would like to hear what others do for the final sand? I've heard use 220 grit and tear back the corners on the pole block to avoid long scratch lines and will get you a good finish, but am scared to try this on a job without trying it out and was looking for opinions. thanks LR

·
Just doing my job.
464 Posts
There are a few variables.

i) Mud used.
ii) Type of idiot painting behind you.

For a long time, I've used 150 grit as finish paper using ProRoc mud. The blue Wet-Kut cloth paper. It does the job without cutting lines so aggressively into your work. You can tear the excess right off so that your sander doesn't have any paper hanging over the one edge. I've also used a harder setting mud, so the lines don't show so much. If you use a soft mud, like most Synko muds, chances are 180 or 220/40 is what you'll need.

If the painter doesn't use good primer, or a primer at all, you'll also need to use finer paper than normal to hide the lines and cover your a$$.