Drywall Talk - Professional Drywall and Finishing Contractors Forum banner

1 - 20 of 159 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all.

Signed up to this forum specifically to ask a question regarding my job and the reoccurring cracks on the butts. About me, Ive been doing commercial renovations for 15 years, now supervise a crew of 15-20. In my experience ive never seen cracks on so many sheets.

A little about my job, this is the first building that has continuous high ceilings throughout. Ranging from 12-14.5' high. Ive used heavy gauge (20 gauge) metal track and studs, with 3 rows of U-channel stiffener. Fastened top and bottom, both sides. Walls sheeted with 4x12x5/8" non type X, for rigidity.

I know my walls are not moving a mm. My taper continuously blames the walls saying that they are moving. When I know for a fact that they do not as no work is being done around them with the exception of the taping.

The cracks only appear on the butts of bottom 2 rows (sheets layed down and staggered) and never on the top rows.

Ive requested paper tape over the butts but don't think he has started using yet. Told me that hes using a S.R/mud mix for the first coat and straight mud for the next two coats. Mesh tape all around.

I need to get this sorted as now when he goes back over, it and we repaint. Recaracks. Builds out larger, re-prime, paint. recrack. This **** is putting me in the doghouse. New units with patches and the wall is built out so big on the butts. So much natural light as well. So unhappy..:furious:

PLEASE HELP!:yes:

Rant over....lol

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Its a large steel constructed building w/ polished concrete floors. We keep our sheets off of the floor about 1/2"-3/4", only due to the ease of installation. Between every beam the floor has a sag, but does not vibrate (under normal usage). No heaving.