Tape tech flat box crowning

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2012, 03:34 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
jandkdrywall's Avatar
 
Trade: Hanging and finishing
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Tape tech flat box crowning


I have a set of older tapetech boxes that I am trying to rejuvenate, I replaced the crown spring, blades and skids. When you look down the blade it is already past flat (crowned the wrong way) do I need to replace the blade holder or have I just installed something wrong. Any help would be nice

jandkdrywall is offline  
Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. DrywallTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 02-16-2012, 05:52 PM   #2
Member
 
A.T.T.-Craig's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall Tool Repairs
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mpsl, MN
Posts: 60
Thanks: 15
Thanked 52 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Re: Tape tech flat box crowning


When you replace the blades, you'll want to slightly "kink" the blade 3 times. Once on each end, about an 1.5" and one in the middle. This will allow the blade to follow the brass blade holders curve with out popping out. (you need to slide the blade into the holder from the side, not straight down).
If it still doesn't have a good crown, take the whole blade holder assembly out and curve it with your hands while the new blade is in there. With the blade in there you wont accidentally snap the brass holder.
Hope this helps.
A.T.T.-Craig is offline  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to A.T.T.-Craig For This Useful Post:
gotmud (02-16-2012), moore (02-16-2012), PrecisionTaping (02-16-2012)
Old 02-16-2012, 09:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
PrecisionTaping's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,507
Thanks: 2,484
Thanked 1,917 Times in 1,045 Posts
Default

Re: Tape tech flat box crowning


Quote:
Originally Posted by A.T.T.-Craig View Post
When you replace the blades, you'll want to slightly "kink" the blade 3 times. Once on each end, about an 1.5" and one in the middle. This will allow the blade to follow the brass blade holders curve with out popping out. (you need to slide the blade into the holder from the side, not straight down).
If it still doesn't have a good crown, take the whole blade holder assembly out and curve it with your hands while the new blade is in there. With the blade in there you wont accidentally snap the brass holder.
Hope this helps.
Got my parts for my bazooka on tuesday. Thanks Craig!
__________________
LIKE US ON FACEBOOK!http://www.facebook.com/PrecisionTaping
FESTOOL PLANEX VIDEO http://youtu.be/xKR-I82Ad44
Installing Trim-Tex Crown Mouldinghttp://youtu.be/QiOtCi3mfWM
PrecisionTaping is offline  
Old 02-16-2012, 09:48 PM   #4
Member
 
A.T.T.-Craig's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall Tool Repairs
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mpsl, MN
Posts: 60
Thanks: 15
Thanked 52 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Re: Tape tech flat box crowning


Quote:
Originally Posted by PrecisionTaping View Post
Got my parts for my bazooka on tuesday. Thanks Craig!
Let me know how the install goes.
A.T.T.-Craig is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to A.T.T.-Craig For This Useful Post:
gotmud (02-17-2012), PrecisionTaping (02-17-2012)
Old 02-16-2012, 09:57 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
PrecisionTaping's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,507
Thanks: 2,484
Thanked 1,917 Times in 1,045 Posts
Default

Re: Tape tech flat box crowning


Quote:
Originally Posted by A.T.T.-Craig View Post
Let me know how the install goes.
lol! I will. I have a feeling i'll be referencing a few of Aaron's Columbia YouTube videos. But here's hoping!
__________________
LIKE US ON FACEBOOK!http://www.facebook.com/PrecisionTaping
FESTOOL PLANEX VIDEO http://youtu.be/xKR-I82Ad44
Installing Trim-Tex Crown Mouldinghttp://youtu.be/QiOtCi3mfWM
PrecisionTaping is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to PrecisionTaping For This Useful Post:
A.T.T.-Craig (02-16-2012)
Old 02-17-2012, 12:50 AM   #6
Super Moderator
 
fr8train's Avatar
 
Trade: taping and finishing w/ tools!
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,242
Thanks: 512
Thanked 683 Times in 361 Posts
Default

Re: Tape tech flat box crowning


I've found that when setting up the boxes, you want the crown to be backwards, when ran on the wall, the pressure from using it will flatten out the crown, and you end up with flat seam. If you 'crown' the joint, you have to take some mud back off to flatten it, aka you have to trace or back wipe the seam. Just my $.o2.
__________________
You want me to fix what? And...you want me to do it for how much!?
fr8train is offline  
Old 02-17-2012, 10:57 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
spacklinfool's Avatar
 
Trade: finishing--VARIO N.E. DISTRIBUTOR
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: long island
Posts: 131
Thanks: 4
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Re: Tape tech flat box crowning


Quote:
Originally Posted by jandkdrywall View Post
I have a set of older tapetech boxes that I am trying to rejuvenate, I replaced the crown spring, blades and skids. When you look down the blade it is already past flat (crowned the wrong way) do I need to replace the blade holder or have I just installed something wrong. Any help would be nice
this may help, there are 2 adjustable screws behind where the blade is where the numbered setting is, adjust them accordingly..maybe that would help?!?!?
spacklinfool is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 07:15 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
JustMe's Avatar
 
Trade: finishing
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: canada
Posts: 3,041
Thanks: 1,197
Thanked 958 Times in 726 Posts
Default

Re: Tape tech flat box crowning


Quote:
Originally Posted by A.T.T.-Craig View Post
When you replace the blades, you'll want to slightly "kink" the blade 3 times. Once on each end, about an 1.5" and one in the middle. This will allow the blade to follow the brass blade holders curve with out popping out. (you need to slide the blade into the holder from the side, not straight down).
If it still doesn't have a good crown, take the whole blade holder assembly out and curve it with your hands while the new blade is in there. With the blade in there you wont accidentally snap the brass holder.
Hope this helps.
Something I've been wondering about, Craig. I've got a 3 year old TT 10" power assist box that I've used very little. The crown on it reversed itself. What can cause that to happen on its own? Is there anything one can do to keep that from happening? I haven't done anything like leave the blade adjuster on something other than a 0 setting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr8train View Post
I've found that when setting up the boxes, you want the crown to be backwards, when ran on the wall, the pressure from using it will flatten out the crown, and you end up with flat seam. If you 'crown' the joint, you have to take some mud back off to flatten it, aka you have to trace or back wipe the seam. Just my $.o2.
If I'm reading this right, you have it so all your blade adjuster settings give you a reverse crown?
JustMe is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 10:19 AM   #9
Member
 
A.T.T.-Craig's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall Tool Repairs
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mpsl, MN
Posts: 60
Thanks: 15
Thanked 52 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Re: Tape tech flat box crowning


Quote:
Originally Posted by JustMe View Post
Something I've been wondering about, Craig. I've got a 3 year old TT 10" power assist box that I've used very little. The crown on it reversed itself. What can cause that to happen on its own? Is there anything one can do to keep that from happening? I haven't done anything like leave the blade adjuster on something other than a 0 setting.
With the power assist or even the easy clean tapetech boxes, you have to take extra care at the end of the day cleaning them up. They don't have a rubber seal like most other boxes.
Mud will get trapped behind the brass and eventually start to "pit" the aluminum face of the box.
First thing I would do is pour on a bunch of oil behind the brass and push the blade holder up and down to push out any old mud. My best advice is to do this at the end of every day with these types of boxes. If what comes out is a dirty black color the aluminum is probably pitted.
If its pitted, you'll want to take out the brass and scour the gold aluminum face with a wire brush, then re-install with a proper crown.
A.T.T.-Craig is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to A.T.T.-Craig For This Useful Post:
JustMe (02-20-2012)
Old 02-18-2012, 03:31 PM   #10
Just a taper
 
gotmud's Avatar
 
Trade: drywall finishing
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: northern Indiana
Posts: 257
Thanks: 569
Thanked 156 Times in 89 Posts
Default

Re: Tape tech flat box crowning


Not to take anything away from Craig cuz what a great asset he is to this site but....

Anybody else wonder why TT has not jumped in on this thread??

Anyway, Thanks for taking time to help on this site Craig
__________________
Start Coating Something!
gotmud is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gotmud For This Useful Post:
A.T.T.-Craig (02-18-2012), Mudshark (02-28-2012)
Old 02-20-2012, 08:15 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
JustMe's Avatar
 
Trade: finishing
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: canada
Posts: 3,041
Thanks: 1,197
Thanked 958 Times in 726 Posts
Default

Re: Tape tech flat box crowning


Quote:
Originally Posted by A.T.T.-Craig View Post
With the power assist or even the easy clean tapetech boxes, you have to take extra care at the end of the day cleaning them up. They don't have a rubber seal like most other boxes.
Mud will get trapped behind the brass and eventually start to "pit" the aluminum face of the box.
First thing I would do is pour on a bunch of oil behind the brass and push the blade holder up and down to push out any old mud. My best advice is to do this at the end of every day with these types of boxes. If what comes out is a dirty black color the aluminum is probably pitted.
If its pitted, you'll want to take out the brass and scour the gold aluminum face with a wire brush, then re-install with a proper crown.
If by "extra care at the end of the day cleaning them up", you're meaning your further comment of "push the blade holder up and down to push out any old mud", it's what I always did with that box. Guess I'll have to try putting a proper enough crown back into it.

Thanks, Craig. It's good having someone with your degree of knowledge to bounce things off.
JustMe is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 01:29 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
cazna's Avatar
 
Trade: Drywall and decorating
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,577
Thanks: 1,274
Thanked 1,944 Times in 1,064 Posts
Default

Re: Tape tech flat box crowning


Quote:
Originally Posted by gotmud View Post

Anybody else wonder why TT has not jumped in on this thread??
Considering the circling Vulchers when ever TT Mike says anything, Would you want to???
cazna is offline  

Tags
box, crowning, flat, tape, tech


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tape tech tools !!!! 2buckcanuck Drywall Tools, Supplies and Equipment 86 06-16-2013 10:58 AM
Tape Tech silverstilts Drywall Tools, Supplies and Equipment 87 10-03-2011 09:36 PM
Tape Tech Nail Spotter M T Buckets Painting Drywall Tools, Supplies and Equipment 18 08-23-2011 01:06 PM
Tape Tech Angle head Tim0282 Drywall Tools, Supplies and Equipment 4 04-09-2010 06:52 PM
Tape Tech 3"Angle Head!!! With or without wheels?? tonyvlx Drywall Tools, Supplies and Equipment 8 10-11-2009 09:21 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?


SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1