MudRunner vs Compound Tube

Old 12-19-2013, 12:49 AM   #1
Super Moderator

Trade: taping and finishing w/ tools!

MudRunner vs Compound Tube

What are you guys thoughts?

PA has a mudrunner that hasn't worked right since day one. I used them at the plant, so I know how they are supposed to operate. Maybe I'll have to get him to bring it in and make a vid.

I have no experience with compound tubes what so ever. Seems that one advantage to the compound tube is you can vary its length if needed (closet fronts).

Pros/Cons, experiences, etc.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. DrywallTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 12-19-2013, 01:24 AM   #2
Rock'n Hawk

Trade: taper/boarder
Thanked 1,212 Times in 548 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to mudslingr

Re: MudRunner vs Compound Tube

I'm new to the Mudrunner but I like it. Whoever suggested stiffer mud is giving bad advice. Keep it thin just as you would your tube. Mine seems to run fine but then I have never had another to compare it to but I do know how a tool should work.
I also like the tube very much for doing angles. At least you can control the flow of mud much easier especially in low spots where more is needed to flush out nicely and not have to slow down.
As far as speed goes they are about the same considering a Mudrunner I believe should go a little further in one fill...IF you have a nicely filled tape coat to start with.
Tube and flusher/angle head is more forgiving I think. I'd be happier if I only paid $450 instead of $750 for my Mudrunner though. Neither is a bad choice. The Mudrunner is a little too pricey.
I still prefer the tube in closets. Much easier to do the tight ones with a tube.The Mudrunner is quite long.