Pinholes and craters in texture

Old 11-01-2012, 04:19 PM   #1

Trade: Homebuilder

Pinholes and craters in texture

I'm a warranty manager for a homebuilder and one of our homeowners is complaining about pinholes and craters in the texture throughout the entire home. I talked to our drywall subcontractor and he says it's natural and nothing can be done about it. I've read through information from the various drywall suppliers (Westpac, USG, National...) and various drywall associations and the possible causes for the bubbles come down to a few things:
  • Too much water in the mix
  • Air entrained in the mix
  • Texture gun too close to wall
  • Bubbles in paint, not a drywall issue

So the questions I have are:
  • Is this "natural" or not?
  • What can be done to fix the pin holes?
I've done the search and I see plenty of posts regarding bubbles and pinholes in the mud during taping but I couldn't find anything specific to pinholes in the texture.

Here's what I'm looking at:

Last edited by Rubicon_Dave; 11-01-2012 at 04:28 PM. Reason: add pictures
Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. DrywallTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 11-01-2012, 05:01 PM   #2
drywall slave

Trade: Drywall Contractor
Thanked 5,676 Times in 2,947 Posts

Re: Pinholes and craters in texture

Ever tried painting with a brush or roller nap that was damp? It will leave those bubbles. or maybe the texture was not completly cure before paint?
I don't do that type of texture,,But It looks like the craters are in the texture itself. If it's just where the joints are ,,Thats easy..The skim coat was still wet when they textured..But you say it's through out the home.