Tear Away Bead

Old 06-22-2009, 10:32 PM   #1
Bazooka Joe

Trade: Taper/Boarder/Texturer

Tear Away Bead

So I'm rather new to commercial and am currently doing a swimming pool and rec center. They want the tear away around the windows. Never used it before and was wondering if i coat onto the lip or below it on the trimtex side. I think it's onto the lip so i get a fill.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. DrywallTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 06-23-2009, 12:33 AM   #2

Trade: drywall

Re: Tear Away Bead

Ride the lip. Don't forget to use spray adhesive and staple them on. I first coat with confil to get the strongest bond then two more to finish. Good luck, sounds like a lot of sqf!
Old 06-23-2009, 01:14 AM   #3
Bazooka Joe

Trade: Taper/Boarder/Texturer

it's only 14k board. Mostly stand ups too..and they used this 5/8 tough rock aqua board..it's messed up..one sheet must weight the same as 3 regular sheets. They had to cut it with a skill saw lol. I stapled them and used 90 for firts coat...same way i do arches. Glad to know I was right lol The nice thing is i got 20k of 9 foot office out of it at a great rate.
Old 06-23-2009, 09:01 AM   #4

Trade: Drywall Contractor
Send a message via Skype™ to Whitey97

I've never found the spray adhesive to be worth it, personally.
Old 06-23-2009, 12:51 PM   #5
Super Moderator