Spray foam insulation and glue???

Old 02-13-2012, 09:25 PM   #1

Trade: Taoer

Spray foam insulation and glue???

Ok so I am a professional boarder and taper but I am going to be doing a job with spray foam insulation on a big vaulted ceiling and walls. I have never done one with this because it is a new thing where I am from. So since there is no poly can I just glue all the exterior walls and run maybe a couple screws in the field or screw off like a normall exterior? Also since there is no poly on the ceiling either would u recommend the same for that? Also I read on here that one guy said never use sub floor glue or pl400, why not I have used it for years with 0 problems. The job is framed 2x8 walls and the foam is only 4 inches thick so there won't be any pressure one the board. Also it is 28 ft. To the peak so there may be shifting if u think glue or screws would be better.
Thanks

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. DrywallTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 02-13-2012, 11:56 PM   #2

Trade: drywall

Re: Spray foam insulation and glue???

If its ceilings, glueing drops the required spacing from 12" to 16" meaning you'll still need 2 in the field. Not really worth it unless you're worried about screw pops. If the walls are spray foamed you can get away with 24" spacing with a mastic adhesive(PL or DSA), or 48" spacing with foam adhesive, in the field. If the ceiling has big spans, leave your perimeter screws 8" away from the edges to permit truss lift.
Old 02-20-2012, 09:23 PM   #3

Trade: Drywall